Integrated Data Collection from the International Year of the Salmon High Seas Expeditions

This dataset is a collection of all of the International Year of the Salmon High Seas Expeditions trawl catch, collected specimen measurements, CTD and chemistry datasets that were collected at sea in 2019 aboard the Professor Kaganovsky, 2020 on the Pacific Legacy NO.1, and 2022 aboard the CCGS Sir John Franklin, NOAA Bell M Shimada, R/V TINRO, and R/V Northwest Explorer. These data span the entire North Pacific Ocean and were collected to better our understanding of the ocean conditions salmon experience during winter and how that may drive high seas salmon survival.

Access and Use

Licence: Creative Commons Attribution 4.0

Data and Resources

Citation

Keywords

Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors

Metadata Reference Date(s) July 08, 2022 (Publication)
September 08, 2022 (Revision)
Dataset Reference Date(s) February 18, 2019 (Creation)
July 07, 2022 (Publication)
Frequency of Update As Needed

Responsible Party 1
Name
Pakhomov, Evgeny
Affiliation
University of British Columbia
Email
epakhomov@eoas.ubc.ca
Role
  • Owner
  • Principal Investigator
Responsible Party 2
Name
Weitkamp, Laurie
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Email
laurie.weitkamp@noaa.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 3
Name
Neville, Chrys
Affiliation
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Email
Chrys.Neville@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 4
Name
Somov, Aleksey
Affiliation
Russian Federal Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography
Email
aleksey.somov@tinro-center.ru
Role
Author
Responsible Party 5
Affiliation
North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission
Email
secretariat@npafc.org
Role
Publisher
Responsible Party 6
Name
King, Jackie
Affiliation
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Email
jackie.king@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 7
Name
Farley, Ed
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Email
ed.farley@noaa.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 8
Name
Hunt, Brian
Affiliation
University of British Columbia
Email
b.hunt@oceans.ubc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 9
Name
Freshwater, Cameron
Affiliation
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Email
Cameron.Freshwater@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 10
Name
Murphy, Jim
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Email
jim.murphy@noaa.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 11
Name
van der Stap, Tim
Affiliation
Hakai Institute
Email
tim.vanderstap@hakai.org
Role
  • Author
  • Custodian
  • Processor
  • Editor
Responsible Party 12
Name
Johnson, Brett
Affiliation
Hakai Institute
Email
brett.johnson@hakai.org
Role
  • Author
  • Custodian
  • Processor
  • Editor
Responsible Party 13
Name
Kivva, Kirill
Affiliation
Russian Federal Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography
Email
kirill.kivva@gmail.com
Role
Author
Responsible Party 14
Name
Esenkulova, Svetlana
Affiliation
Pacific Salmon Foundation
Email
svesen@uvic.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 15
Name
Urawa, Shigehiko
Affiliation
Hokkaido National Research Institute
Email
urawa@affrc.go.jp
Role
Author
Responsible Party 16
Name
Waters, Charlie
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association
Email
charlie.waters@noaa.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 17
Name
Vazhova, Anna
Affiliation
Russian Federal Fisheries Research Institute for Fisheries and Oceanography
Email
anna.vazhova@gmail.com
Role
Author
Responsible Party 18
Name
Radchenko, Vladimir
Affiliation
North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission
Email
vlrad@npafc.org
Role
Author
Responsible Party 19
Name
Riddel, Brian
Affiliation
Pacific Salmon Foundation
Role
Author
Responsible Party 20
Name
Beamish, Richard
Role
Author
Responsible Party 21
Name
Kantakov, Gennady
Affiliation
Russian Federal Fisheries Research Institute for Fisheries and Oceanography
Email
gennadykantakov@gmail.com
Role
Author
Responsible Party 22
Name
Kun Jung, Hae
Affiliation
Laboratory of Fisheries Oceanography, Department of Marine Biotechnology, Gangneung-Wonju National University
Email
sesely@naver.com
Role
Author
Responsible Party 23
Name
Shurpa, Igor
Affiliation
Russian Federal Fisheries Research Institute for Fisheries and Oceanography
Role
Author
Responsible Party 24
Name
Ivanov, Arkadii
Affiliation
Russian Federal Fisheries Research Institute for Fisheries and Oceanography
Role
Author
Responsible Party 25
Name
LaForge, Rebecca
Affiliation
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Email
Rebecca.Laforge@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 26
Name
Mahara, Natalie
Affiliation
University of British Columbia
Email
nmahara@eoas.ubc.ca
Role
Author
Responsible Party 27
Name
Lerner, Jacob
Affiliation
University of British Columbia
Role
Author
Responsible Party 28
Name
Dimond, Andrew
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Email
Andrew.Dimond@noaa.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 29
Name
Chulchekov, Denis
Affiliation
Pacific Branch of the Russian Federal Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography
Role
Author
Responsible Party 30
Name
Howard, Katherine
Affiliation
Alaska Department of Fish & Game
Email
katherine.howard@alaska.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 31
Name
Garcia, Sabrina
Affiliation
Alaska Department of Fish & Game
Email
sabrina.garcia@alaska.gov
Role
Author
Responsible Party 32
Name
Moss, Jamal
Affiliation
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Role
Author
Responsible Party 33
Name
Saunders, Mark
Affiliation
North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission
Email
msaunders@yearofthesalmon.org
Role
Author
Responsible Party 34
Affiliation
Hakai Institute
Email
data@hakai.org
Role
Distributor

Field Value
Ocean Variables
  • Oxygen
  • Nutrients
  • Sub Surface Salinity
  • Fish abundance and distribution
  • Marine turtles, birds, mammals abundance and distribution
  • Invertebrate abundance and distribution
Scope Dataset
Status On Going
Maintenance Note Generated from https://cioos-siooc.github.io/metadata-entry-form
Spatial Extent { "coordinates": [ [ [ 194.623, 53.4029 ], [ 188.5193, 51.2046 ], [ 186.3507, 48.6943 ], [ 191.48349, 45.48726 ], [ 191.5383, 45.4683 ], [ 192.82218, 45.38496 ], [ 224.990483333333, 44.9951833333333 ], [ 233.7587, 47.791 ], [ 213.0634, 57.9954 ], [ 213.014516666667, 58.0089 ], [ 194.623, 53.4029 ] ] ], "type": "Polygon" }
North Bounding Latitude 44.9951833333333
South Bounding Latitude 58.0089
East Bounding Longitude 233.7587
West Bounding Longitude 186.3507
Temporal Extent
Begin
2019-02-18
End
2022-04-18
Vertical Extent
Min
0.0
Max
1000.0
Default Locale English
Citation identifier
Code
10.21966/81jn-6p63